Wrap Ups

February Wrap Up

Yes, I am aware it is March 11. I am a busy girl, okay?

Welcome to my February wrap up! February may be the shortest month of the year, but wow was it a journey. Somehow I am amazed that it is already March and questioning how it is only March. Anyway, let’s get into what I read and watched this month!

I read three books this month and they were all for school. Being an English major is so funnnnnnn….

  1. Solar Storms by Linda Hogan

Rating: 5/5 stars

I read this for a class called Contemporary US Literature of Environmental Crises. It’s the story of a young girl named Angel who finds her way from the foster care system back to her family. She discovers that her family’s lands and lives are in danger due to a dam project. She travels with her family to the lands of the project to join the protests against it. This is a beautiful novel about love and family and the power of traditional ways of life. I highly recommend it!

2. Moby Dick by Herman Melville

Rating: 2/5 stars

If you follow me on Instagram, you already know about my mixed feelings regarding this book. And if you don’t follow me on Instagram, you should. (Pls). Upon finishing this I said to my classmates: I don’t regret reading this, but I didn’t have a good time. That pretty much sums up my feelings. I’m proud of myself for reading such an intimidating classic, but I did not enjoy the experience. There were parts I liked, but many, many more parts I hated.

3. The Overstory by Richard Powers

Rating: 4/5 stars

This was another book I read for my environmental literature class. It won the Pulitzer in 2019, so I was super excited to check off a box in my reading journal for reading it. It’s about environmental activism, and it’s told in a super unique way through many view points. The first 3/4 of the book were amazing, but the last 1/4 kind of lost me. Still, I do recommend this one, especially if you love trees and nature.

Movies

Formatting this list was a bitch last month, so I’m just going to do a list and you are going to have to look up the movies if you want to see the posters lol.

  1. Mr. and Mrs. Smith

Rating: 4/5 stars

This was a rewatch for me, and I hadn’t seen it in probably more than five years. Mostly, it allowed me two hours to appreciate how hot Angelina Jolie is.

2. Anastasia

Rating: 4/5 stars

Another rewatch of an old fave! Is it historically accurate? Not at all. Is it a fun and wonderful musical? Yes, it is.

3. A Knight’s Tale

Rating: 4/5 stars

Other than the truly weird hair styling, this movie is an utter delight. If you like Monty Python, you’ll like this. Heath Leger is the main character and Paul Bettany plays Geoffrey Chaucer. I laughed, I did not cry. It was a lot of fun.

4. Bottoms

Rating: 4.5/5 stars

Hot lesbians murder an entire football team. What more could you want? It is fun and ridiculous. I only wish there was more Hazel.

That’s the end of my February wrap up! Join me next month!

Leave a comment