Wrap Ups

March Wrap Up

It’s April???? If April why not warm? At least where I am, it is not quite spring weather yet. I’m supposed to get snow this week?? Insane. Anyway, I read quite a bit in March (in part because I had a week off from school) so let’s get into it!

Books

  1. Uncle Tom’s Cabin by Harriet Beecher Stowe

Rating: 3/5 stars

For an anti-slavery book, this one is pretty racist. I was supposed to read this in high school and I didn’t (yay for sparknotes) but it came back for me in college, clearly. Was this an important book in American history? Yes, it was. Should we still be reading it in schools today? Mmmmm, I don’t know. Personally, I would argue for the better value of reading memoirs and narratives by people who actually experienced slavery.

2. Dune by Frank Herbert

Rating: 4/5 stars

I’m planning on doing an in depth review of this one in its own post soon, so look out for that. In the meantime, I will tell you that this gets off to a slow start but around page 200 it starts flying and it is absolutely worth it. I loved this book and I felt so accomplished when I finished it. If you liked the movies you definitely need to read the book.

3. I’m Glad My Mom Died by Jennette McCurdy

Rating: 4/5 stars

I love, love, loved iCarly as a kid and I’ve been meaning to read this one for forever. I got an ebook copy from my library and read it all in just two days. Nickelodeon has been blowing up on social media lately (especially due to the docuseries on HBO Max which I’ll talk about later) and if you were a Nick kid in the 90s and early 2000s this is a must read. My mom even read and loved this despite not being a fan of McCurdy’s shows.

4. Don’t Want You Like a Best Friend by Emma R Alban

Rating: 3.5/5 stars

I have mixed feelings on the lyrics as titles, but I digress. This was an adorable sapphic regency romance featuring parent trap – esque hijinks. It was delightful and fun.

5. Narrative of the Life of Frederick Douglass

Rating: 5/5 stars

Spring break is over and we are back on that English major grind! This is the kind of Civil War/slavery book we should be reading. A true account from someone who lived through slavery. Not some kind of performative activist Christian propaganda moment. This one is super short but super moving.

6. Oh Pure and Radiant Heart by Lydia Millet

Rating: 4/5 stars

Another strange book I had to read for class yay. This one is a 500 page contemplation on the philosophy and morality of the atom bombs created and used during WWII and the nuclear weapons and power industry that grew from that. It was weird and thought provoking and I’m still not sure quite what to do with it.

Movies

  1. Next Goal Wins

Rating: 4/5 stars

Directed by Taika Waititi, this is the heartwarming true story of the soccer team of American Samoa. It’s funny, it’s cute, I liked it.

2. Madame Web

Rating: 2/5 stars

Do not waste your time. Skip this one. One of the worst movies I have ever seen. One star added simply for the presence of Sydney Sweeney.

3. Dune

Rating: 5/5 stars

This was a rewatch to prepare for Part 2! I love this movie.

4. Dune Part Two

Rating 5/5 stars

One of the best movies I’ve ever seen. Zendaya, Florence Pugh, and Anya Taylor-Joy. What could be better? Oh yeah, Timothee whoever was there also.

5. Damsel

Rating: 3/5 stars

A Netflix film, but surprisingly not horrible. Four 21 year olds did not check their phones for almost 2 hours, which is an impressive feat. Worth a casual watch.

6. 27 Dresses

Rating: 2.5/5 stars

If you are looking for a good early 2000s rom com to watch, this is not it.

7. Bodies, Bodies, Bodies

Rating: 3.5/5 stars

I love slashers and I love that they are making a come back. If you also like slashers, you should watch this one. I meant to watch 20 minutes of it before I went to bed but I ended up watching the whole thing and then it was 1 am.

8. Quiet on Set

Rating: 4/5 stars

This is a must watch for every Nick kid. Warning: it will ruin your childhood. Be mindful of the trigger warnings, there is a lot of content about sexual assault. It’s also a good intro to the true crime genre.

So that was my March! Join me again next month. Also, look out for my review of Dune coming soon!

Leave a comment