Wrap Ups

January Wrap Up

I haven’t done a wrap up in forever, so bear with me on this one.

Hello! Happy 2024! One of my goals for this year is to be more consistent with blogging so I am bringing back monthly wrap ups! I only read 2 books this month so I’m also going to include some movies and shows I watched, and I think I’m going to continue this moving forward but we will see. I’ve been reading much less since becoming a college student. The struggle is real. But enough about me, let’s get into it!!

  1. Delilah Green Doesn’t Care by Ashley Herring Blake

Rating: 4/5 stars

The first book I read this month was the adorable sapphic romance by Ashley Herring Blake! I had such fun reading this one and I finished it in just three days. It’s also a series and I can’t wait to dive into the other two, especially since I ordered them both before I even finished this one. This is the perfect small town, spicy, wlw romance. I never read contemporary romance, but this book single-handedly made me reconsider that. Am I a romance girlie now? Maybe.

2. The Honey Witch by Sydney J Shields

Rating: 4/5 stars

Read my full review here

The second book I read this month was an eARC of The Honey Witch. I wrote a full review you can click to read above, but I’ll just say that this book is the epitome of coziness. It’s another sapphic fantasy filled with magic, curses, family, and friends. I absolutely loved this one and could not put it down.

Movies

I watched quite a few movies in January so let’s get right into it:

  1. Kiki’s Delivery Service 4/5 stars

I watched the famous Studio Ghibli film for the first time this month! I have always been and always will be a Ponyo girl, but Kiki’s Delivery Service is definitely in second place.

2. Silver and the Book of Dreams 4/5 stars

This one was a pretty random pick, but it was so good! It’s about a girl who discovers she has the power to enter other people’s dreams and the pact she makes with some new friends to cultivate this power. It’s one of those movies where you can’t tell what is real and what isn’t, which is quickly becoming a new fave genre of mine.

3. Good Grief 3/5 stars

I don’t have much to say about this one because I don’t really remember it. It was a cute and touching movie about grief and friendship.

4. Poor Things 4/5 stars

Wow I loved this one! Pro tip: do NOT see it with your mom. Just don’t. I speak from experience. I am a Frankenstein girl through and through and Poor Things is a near perfect continuation of the work that Mary Shelley started there.

5. Mean Girls (2024) 3/5 stars

Honestly, I’d probably drop this to two stars now. Do yourself a favor and watch the original movie and the Broadway musical if you can and skip this one. They cut all the best songs, made the weirdest changes, and just overall created an unnecessary remake of a masterpiece.

6. Quiz Lady 3.5/5 stars

This one was cute! Sandra Oh and Awkwafina acting against type, a story about gameshows, sisters, and a pug. It was fun and funny and touching.

That’s it from me, see you next month!!

4 thoughts on “January Wrap Up”

  1. YAY for watching Kiki’s Delivery Service!!! It’s my absolute FAVORITE Ghibli film because I relate to Kiki and the main themes and messages SO MUCH! I’m glad you enjoyed it so much 😀 Also—I have an eARC of The Honey Witch too and hearing about how enjoyable and cozy you found it has definitely moved it up on my TBR! I hope you have a great February 😀

    Liked by 2 people

Leave a comment