Reviews

Epically Earnest by Molly Horan

Genre: YA contemporary romance, LGBTQ+ Release date: 21 June, 2022 Content warnings: child abandonment, blood/injury Synopsis: In this delightfully romantic LGBTQ+ comedy-of-errors inspired by Oscar Wilde’s The Importance of Being Earnest, a high school senior works up the courage to ask her long-time crush to prom all while deciding if she should look for her bio… Continue reading Epically Earnest by Molly Horan

Reviews

Cinder & Glass by Melissa de la Cruz ARC Review

Genre: YA historical romance, retelling Release date: March 8, 2022 Representation: sapphic side characters CW: dead parents, abuse by stepparent, poisoning (attempted) Synopsis: New York Times bestselling author Melissa de la Cruz pens a lush, swoon-worthy retelling of "Cinderella" set in lavish Versailles. Perfect for fans of Bridgerton and The Selection! 1682. The king sends out an invitation to all… Continue reading Cinder & Glass by Melissa de la Cruz ARC Review

Reviews

Godslayers by Zoe Hana Mikuta ARC Review

Genre: YA dystopian, LGBTQ+, science fiction Release date: June 28, 2022 Representation: sapphic main and side characters, lesbian main character, bisexual main character, asexual side characters, trans side character, Korean main characters CW: death, war, violence, blood, gun violence, suicide Synopsis: Godslayers--Zoe Hana Mikuta's high-octane sequel to Gearbreakers--is perfect for fans of Pacific Rim, Pierce Brown's Red… Continue reading Godslayers by Zoe Hana Mikuta ARC Review

Uncategorized

How We Fall Apart by Katie Zhao ARC Review

Genre: YA mystery, thriller Format: eARC My rating: 4.5 stars CW: adult/minor relationship, emotional abuse, suicidal thoughts, suicide, fire, mental illness, drug use, panic attacks Synopsis: In a YA thriller that is Crazy Rich Asians meets One of Us is Lying, students at an elite prep school are forced to confront their secrets when their ex-best… Continue reading How We Fall Apart by Katie Zhao ARC Review

Uncategorized

Gearbreakers by Zoe Hana Mikuta ARC Review

Genre: YA sci-fi/dystopian, LGBTQ+ Format: eARC My rating: 5/5 stars Release date: June 29th, 2021 CW: on page death, combat, violence Representation: Asian main characters, bisexual/pansexual (not specified) main character, lesbian main character Synopsis: Two girls on opposite sides of a war discover they're fighting for a common purpose--and falling for each other--in Zoe Hana Mikuta's… Continue reading Gearbreakers by Zoe Hana Mikuta ARC Review

Uncategorized

The Summer of Lost Letters by Hannah Reynolds ARC Review

Genre: YA contemporary, romance Format: eARC My rating: 3.5/5 stars Release date: June 15, 2021 CW: the Holocaust is a central theme, antisemitism mentioned Representation: Jewish main characters, gay side characters Synopsis: Seventeen-year-old Abby Schoenberg isn't exactly looking forward to the summer before her senior year. She's just broken up with her first boyfriend and… Continue reading The Summer of Lost Letters by Hannah Reynolds ARC Review

Reviews

Luck of the Titanic by Stacey Lee ARC Review

Genre: YA, historical fiction Format: eARC from Penguin Teen My rating: 5/5 stars Release date: May 4th, 2021 Goodreads | Amazon | Barnes and Noble CW: mentions of alcoholism, death, drowning, racism, attempted sexual assault Representation: full cast of Chinese main characters, lesbian side character Synopsis: From the critically acclaimed author of The Downstairs Girlcomes the… Continue reading Luck of the Titanic by Stacey Lee ARC Review

Reviews

Does Crooked Kingdom Deserve the Hype?

Welcome to a new post in the "does it deserve the hype?" series here on my blog! Basically what I do in this series is read and review a hyped book and decide whether I think it deserves all the hype it gets. You can read my post for Six of Crows, Fable, and the… Continue reading Does Crooked Kingdom Deserve the Hype?

Wrap Ups

March Wrap Up (and my accidental hiatus)

Wow this wrap up is so late. It's on brand though. Anyway, enjoy this chaos. Another month, another wrap up. It is absolutely insane to me that it has been over a year since the first quarantine. How insane is it that just over a year ago no one wore masks anywhere and social distancing… Continue reading March Wrap Up (and my accidental hiatus)